Pearl Duncan Teaching Scholarship


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​If you identify as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander and are studying or intend to study an undergraduate or postgraduate teacher qualification, our Pearl Duncan Teaching Scholarship might be right for you.

So we can encourage and support our aspiring teachers, this scholarship provides generous financial benefits and the opportunity to gain valuable experience and skills teaching in a supportive environment while you study (on a full-time basis) and after graduation.

The scholarship is named in honour of Dr Pearl Duncan, an Aboriginal teacher who dedicated her life to improving Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander participation in education. Pearl was an accomplished individual with a long history in the education sector. She taught students from primary school to university and contributed to research work in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies.

Pearl had the honour of being the first Aboriginal school teacher in Australia who was trained at a tertiary institution and held a PhD in Aboriginal Cultural Studies, a Master of Education, a Bachelor of Letters Anthropology (Honours) and a NSW Teacher's Certificate. Her many accolades included​ being named Senior Australian of the Year (Queensland) in 2004 and being awarded the Centenary of Federation Medal for increasing Aboriginal participation in education.

Why you should apply

As a Pearl Duncan Teaching Scholarship recipient, you could receive:

  • up to $20,000 (before tax) to help you with study and related expenses, and
  • permanent employment as a teacher in a Queensland state school when you graduate.

Who the scholarship is for

This scholarship offers support to aspiring teachers in the following categories:

How to apply

Applications for the 2023 Pearl Duncan Teaching Scholarship have now closed. Subscribe​ to receive an email alert when applications for the 2024 scholarship program opens.


​If you have any questions about this scholarship, contact our Scholarships and Grants team by email at or phone (07) 3055 2991.​​

2022 scholarship recipients

Ellyn-Louise Wone, Mount Sheridan

Erin McFetridge, Springfield Lakes

Georgia Lindsay, Dalby

Isabella Lee, Tweed Heads South

Izabella Hazard, Laidley

Jack Handley, Douglas

Joshua Turner, Moore Creek

Justin Strong, Caboolture

Kynesha Barker, Brisbane

Laverne Woibo, Hope Vale

Luke Forbes, Castaways Beach

Lynette Smith, Ellengrove

Misharleah Fogarty, Wondunna

Natasha Davui, Redlynch

Nira Ahmat, Badu Island

Paije Kulbicki, Alligator Creek

Peter Prince, Thallon

Rueben Davis, Holmview

Tracy Vayro, Flagstone Creek

Zoe Basham, Kingaroy


2022 grant recipients

Caitlin Deturt, Camira

Freda Walker, Innisfail

Katidjah Fraser, Mooroobool

Melachi Davis, Holmview



 These articles may interest you

Last updated 25 January 2023