Aspiring Teacher Grant


​​​​​If you have decided to become a teacher, our Aspiring Teacher Grants will help you to get started.

Why you should apply

If successful, you will receive a one-off lump-sum grant payment of $2,500 for general applicants or $5,000 for rural or remote residents during the first semester of study to assist with study-related expenses such as a computer, textbooks and stationery.

For students from rural or remote communities, the funds can assist with additional expenses incurred, when moving from your home to undertake study. Funds will be paid after confirmation of enrolment in an eligible initial teacher education course (ITE).

Who the grant is for

To be eligible for an Aspiring Teacher Grant, you must:

  • be an Australian or New Zealand citizen or have permanent residency status in Australia
  • successfully complete Year 12 at any Queensland school during the current calendar year. Note: students who have completed school in the previous calendar year and have taken a gap year during the current calendar year are eligible to apply for the grant
  • obtain an ATAR result of 88.75 or higher
  • commence an initial teacher education program at a Queensland university or tertiary institution in the first semester of the year after graduating Year 12
  • not have already accepted 1 of our other scholarships or grants to support your tertiary studies.

In addition to the general eligibility criteria above, rural or remote applicants must also reside within the catchment of a Queensland state school with a transfer rating of between 3 and 7 as per the Department of Education schools directory.

Priority selection will be given to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students and students who reside in drought-affected communities. Drought declared regions can be viewed on the drought situation map provided by the Department of Environment and Science.

How to apply

Applications for the 2024 Aspiring Teacher Grant have now closed. Register your interest below and we'll alert you when applications for the 2025 grant program opens in Term 4.

Alert me



If you’d rather talk to someone from our team for more information, contact our Scholarships and Grants team by email or phone (07) 3055 2991.

2024 grant recipients

Alyssa Wilhelmsen, Stretton State College

Amelia Tranter, The Glennie School

Amy Robinson, Ferny Grove State High School

Baden Wastell, The Cathedral College (Rockhampton)

Breanna Gardiner (R&R), Biloela State High School

Bridey Mills, Toowoomba Christian College

Chloe Avenell, St Mary's College (Ipswich)

Claire Thurtell, Corinda State High School

Coby Graham, Toowoomba Christian College

Cooper McDonald, Mount Gravatt State High School

Daniel Furze, Balmoral State High School

Douglas Cowan, Marymount College

Elara Kelly, Narangba Valley State High School

Elise Scrivens, Mary MacKillop Catholic College (Highfields)

Ella Fernleigh, Ormeau Woods State High School

Ella Woodburn, Chancellor State College

Emily Fox, Craigslea State High School

Felicity Roberts (R&R), Chinchilla Christian College

Grace Nuske, Shailer Park State High School

Hanna Muamar, Upper Coomera State College

Hannah Niessl, The Gap State High School

Holly Gavarra, St Rita's College, Clayfield

Isabelle Logan, Lourdes Hill College (Hawthorne)

Jai Katene, Robina State High School

James MacCallum, St Patrick's College (Shorncliffe)

Jennifer Lubke, Indooroopilly State High School

Joe McGowan, Rochedale State High School

Kayleigh Sutherland, Palm Beach Currumbin State High School

Lana Holt, San Sisto College

Lauren Collins North Lakes State College

Lauren Eldridge, Mount Gravatt State High School

Mali Dawson, Centenary Heights State High School

Matthew Sippel, Darling Downs Christian School

Meg Lanson, Yeppoon State High School

Mia Perry, Emmanuel College, Carrara

Michaela Smith, Kenmore State High School

Mitchell Bombolas, Brisbane State High School

Nate Nugent, Iona College

Noah Cross, Isis District State High School

Noah Felton, Elanora State High School

Noah Kelly, Marist College Ashgrove

Olivia Ryan, Stretton State College

Percival Curtain (R&R), Saint Mary's Catholic College (Kingaroy)

Prue Dow (R&R), Monto State High School

Rachel Woods, MacGregor State High School

Rory Kaatz, Kedron State High School

Scarlette Joske, Miami State High School

Stella Temple, Nerang State High School

William Carter, St Brendan's College (Yeppoon)

Yolanda Stock, Groves Christian College, Kingston

Zachary Hampson, North Rockhampton State High School

Zachary Johnson, Pimlico State High School


 These articles may interest you

Last updated 22 July 2024