Our schools

Queensland state school locations are divided into four departmental zones and seven educational regions, from the Torres Strait and Cape York Peninsula in the North to the borders of New South Wales and the Northern Territory and everywhere in between.

Approximately 37% of Queensland state schools are located in major cities, with the rest found in regional, rural or remote communities across the state. Of 1,238 state schools, 521 have less than 200 students.

Use the searchable Schools Directory Map to find out more about individual schools, regions and geographical zones.

For a printable map of Queensland with regional office details, download our Quick guide map: Queensland regional map and office contacts (DOCX, 691KB).



Departmental zones

Metropolitan City: Mainland capital cities and major districts (over 100,000 people); includes Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Cairns and Townsville.

Regional/Provincial City: Significant urban towns and districts (between 25,000 – 50,000 people); includes Mackay, Rockhampton, Toowoomba, Bundaberg, Gladstone and Maryborough among others.

Rural areas: Smaller towns in outlying districts (generally less than 25,000 people); includes Gatton, Charters Towers, Cherbourg, Miles and Yarrabah among others.

Remote areas: Small towns (generally less than 25,000); includes Mount Isa, Weipa and Quilpie, Normanton among others.

Educational geographical regions

 map of queensland showing geographical regions

Far North Queensland region

Encompassing the tropical city of Cairns and up to the northern most tip of the state, the Far North Queensland region covers some of our most remote and stunning locations. Explore the Great Barrier Reef and get a taste of tropical lifestyle and adventure in the Daintree Rainforest and Cape York. Some of our island schools are closer to Papua New Guinea than mainland Australia.

North Queensland region

Live life to the full in the Tropical North and teach in locations as diverse as Mt Isa, Charters Towers and Townsville. Explore the history of our state and get up close to nature from the outback to the reef.

Central Queensland region

Central Queensland covers the seaside cities of Mackay, Gladstone and Rockhampton travelling through the Gemfields and the inland city of Emerald and out to Longreach. Living in the heart of Queensland has lots to offer, including friendly locals and vibrant communities.

Darling Downs South West region

Mountains, crisp mornings and wineries are just some of the things you can enjoy when you take on a teaching role in the Darling Downs South West region. Most of the state's fruit and vegetables are grown in the Darling Downs. It's also home to a thriving wine industry. Further inland explore the strong farming communities of Roma and Kingaroy.

North Coast region

Home to some of Queensland's most stunning beaches, come enjoy the laid-back atmosphere of the Sunshine Coast and Wide Bay regions. Stretching from Brisbane's north, past the whale watching town of Hervey Bay and the historical town of Maryborough up to Bundaberg, the North Coast region offers enviable lifestyle opportunities.

Metropolitan region

Considered one of Australia's most liveable cities, Brisbane offers all the benefits of city living with a laid-back feel characteristic of a much smaller town. Set on the Brisbane river, the city has a wide mix of cultural activities, dining, shopping and sporting events. This region stretches as far north as Sandgate, down to Logan, and stops short of Laidley in the west.

South East region 

Located between Brisbane and the Queensland/New South Wales border the South East region covers the glittering beaches of the Gold Coast. Keen surfers will enjoy living so close to some of Australia's best breaks and outdoor enthusiasts will love the outdoor lifestyle. The Gold Coast hinterland is home to beautiful national parks and several small wineries.

Contact a regional office

Our regional offices offer local support, and can assist with enquiries about vacancies and schools in their region.

Regional office contact details.

Transfer opportunities

Experience all that Queensland has to offer! We provide permanent teachers the opportunity to apply for transfer annually.

Approximately half of Queensland's state schools are in rural and remote communities, providing teachers with accelerated career progression and unique and diverse lifestyle opportunities.

For the purposes of transfer, Departmental zone classifications of 'rural' or 'remote' are not used. Read more about our transfer process and rural and remote incentives, or get information about teaching in Indigenous communities.

Permanent teachers can apply for a transfer through the department's OnePortal intranet site (DET employees only)

Last updated 03 October 2017

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander audiences are warned that the following content may contain images of deceased persons.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of this land.