Scholarship and grant recipients - 2018

 Congratulations to the following scholarship and grant recipients who were presented their awards at Customs House in Brisbane on Friday 27 April 2018.

Lambert McBride Perpetual Bursary

The Lambert McBride Perpetual Bursary is named in honour of the late Lambert McBride – an Aboriginal advocate and lobbyist for Queensland Indigenous rights.

Mr McBride believed in the value of education for progress and encouraged Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to get a good education. This bursary provides the opportunity for one Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander student studying in any field at a Queensland higher education institution to continue Mr McBride’s legacy.

  • Simon Kolanowski

Pearl Duncan Teaching Scholarships

The Pearl Duncan Teaching Scholarships are named in honour of Dr Pearl Duncan, Queensland’s first Aboriginal educator, who has dedicated her life to improving Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander participation in education.

Pearl Duncan Teaching Scholarship recipients (PDF, 1.02MB)

Aspiring Teacher Grants

The Aspiring Teacher Grants acknowledge high-achieving Year 12 school leavers who are commencing an initial teacher education program at a Queensland higher education institution.

Aspiring Teacher Grant recipients (PDF, 1.02MB)

TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships

TJ Ryan Memorial Medal ​and Scholarships​ are awarded each year to support exemplary Queensland students who demonstrate outstanding leadership in their school and community and academic excellence through their achievements in Year 12.

TJ Ryan Medallist, Highly Commended, Meritorious recipients (PDF, 1.02MB)

Last updated 07 November 2018

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander audiences are warned that the following content may contain images of deceased persons.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of this land.