2017 scholarship and grant recipients


Congratulations to the following scholarship and grant recipients who were presented their awards at Customs House in Brisbane on Thursday, 8 June 2017.

Lambert McBride Perpetual Bursary

The Lambert McBride Perpetual Bursary is named in honour of the late Lambert McBride – an Aboriginal advocate and lobbyist for Queensland Indigenous rights.

Mr McBride believed in the value of education for progress and encouraged Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to get a good education. This Bursary provides the opportunity for one Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander student studying in any field at a Queensland higher education institution to continue Mr McBride’s legacy.

  • Andrew Iselin

Pearl Duncan Teaching Scholarships

The Pearl Duncan Teaching Scholarships are named in honour of Dr Pearl Duncan, Queensland’s first Aboriginal educator, who has dedicated her life to improving Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander participation in education.

  • Ida Anson
  • Sarah Burke
  • Zachariah Glover
  • Leonard Hodges
  • Lucinda McConkey
  • Teshura McConkey
  • Cheryl Mortimer
  • Lauris Nardi
  • Ruby Pitt
  • Bobbie-Ann Ryan-Hopkins
  • Wariba Seriat
  • Sarah Songoa
  • Kirsty-Leigh Young

Aspiring Teacher Grants

The Aspiring Teacher Grants acknowledge high-achieving Year 12 school leavers who are commencing an initial teacher education program at a Queensland higher education institution.

  • Yasmin Atwani
  • Leah Blakemore
  • Michelle de Jongh
  • Anna Erskine
  • Rachel Fisher
  • Caitlan Gibb
  • Hannah Hall
  • Joshua Hwang
  • Joe Jackson
  • Rebekah Kapernick
  • Wade Lablache
  • Natalie Lagerroth
  • Alix Leckenby
  • Jasmine Lee
  • Shuyi Li
  • Brianna Madsen
  • Sonia Munro
  • Gemma Pace
  • Sarah Perkins
  • Sarah Pickering
  • Maddison Schulke
  • Jasmin Singlewood
  • Anja van Aswegen
  • Fiona Vo
  • Emily Williamson
  • Bronte Wills

TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships

TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships are awarded each year to support exemplary Queensland students who demonstrate outstanding leadership in their school and community and academic excellence through their achievements in Year 12.


  • Elizabeth Kay – Somerset College (Actuarial Studies)
  • Hugo van Buuren – Anglican Church Grammar School (Science)
  • Jeremy Gordon – Iona College (Physiotherapy)
  • Kate Wilcox – St Stephen’s Catholic College (Medicine/Surgery)
  • Lydia Gandhi – Brisbane Girls Grammar School (Biomedicine)
  • Harrison Kettewell – Wavell State High School (Medical Science)
  • Isabelle Blackstone – Mountain Creek State High School (Forensic Science/Criminology and Criminal Justice)
  • Kate Morcom – Caloundra State High School (Occupational Therapy)
  • Katelyn Dickinson – Mareeba State High School (Medicine/Surgery)
  • Matthew Craigie – Noosa District State High School (Advanced Science)

Highly commended

  • Logan Donadelli – Proserpine State High School (Economics)
  • Praveen Gurusinghe – Kirwan State High School (Medicine/Surgery)
  • Samuel Ewart – Varsity College (Engineering/Business Management)
  • Oscar McCabe – St Joseph’s College (Medical Science)
  • Nina van Zijl – St Rita’s College (Nursing/Midwifery)

Certificate of Merit

  • Aime Parker – Gladstone State High School
  • Naomi Smith – Qld Academies Health Science Campus
  • Emma Carpendale – Albany Creek State High School
  • Kaitlyn Horne – Longreach State High School
  • Jesse Moss – Sandgate District State High School
  • Joshua Jones – Townsville State High School
  • Yasmin Atwani –Runcorn State High School
  • Daniel Elvery – Mansfield State High School
  • Alex Lobegeier – Gympie State High School
  • Jamie-Lee Barron – Nanango State High School
  • Harmeet Kaur – Innisfail State College
  • Callum Breetzke – Emmanuel College
  • Hannah Bates – Moreton Bay College
  • Stephanie Schmidt – Trinity Anglican School
  • Joel Bulow – Cannon Hill Anglican College
  • Paivi Adeniyi – Grace Lutheran College (Rothwell)
  • Matisse Jacobs – Our Lady’s College
  • Grace Gough – The Cathedral School
  • Anja van Aswegen – Coomera Anglican College
  • Jasmine Lee – Townsville Grammar School
Last updated 19 July 2017

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander audiences are warned that the following content may contain images of deceased persons.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of this land.